EWS reservation what and how

The Economically Weaker Section (EWS) reservation in India

EWS reservation


People who do not belong to the Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST), or Other Backward Classes (OBC) and whose yearly family income is less than ₹8 lakh (US$10,000) are classified as members of the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) quota in India. In the context of an EWS reservation, “family” refers to the individual requesting the reservation, as well as his or her parents, siblings, and children under the age of eighteen. This is for all applicants who fall into the economically disadvantaged categories and are not eligible for any reservations, including OBC, SC, ST, PH, or Ex-servicemen.

The Economically Weaker Section was granted a 10% reservation in government employment and educational institutions under the General category on January 7, 2019, by the Union Council of Ministers

The Economic Weaker Section Reservation Bill, Articles 15(6) and 16(6), which guarantee 10% reservations to the impoverished and lower-middle-class members of upper castes who were previously denied any kind of affirmative action, were approved by Indian President Ram Nath Kovind on January 12, 2019. The Supreme Court of India has maintained the legality of the 10% EWS reservation in employment and education, according to the most recent news on EWS reservation in India.

Gujarat became the first state to enact this law on 14 January 2019.

 Who is eligible to claim EWS Quota?

In order to qualify for the EWS certificate, you must meet each of the requirements listed below:

1. You ought to apply as a “general” candidate (not eligible for SC, ST, or OBC reservations).

2. The combined annual gross income of your family should not exceed Rs. 8 lakhs. The revenue from all sources (agricultural, salary, company, etc.) for the fiscal year prior to your exam application is included in this.

3. A farmland that is five acres or more shouldn’t belong to your family.

4. A residential apartment more than a thousand square feet should not belong to your family.

5. A residential plot of 100 square yards or more should not belong to your family (in towns that have been notified).

6. A residential plot of 200 square yards or more should not belong to your family, unless it is in a municipality that has been notified.

How do I apply for EWS reservations?

Your local government agency (Tehsil) is where you can obtain the EWS certificate. The “Income and Assets Certificate” is the document that serves as the proof needed to make an EWS reservation.

Note: The government has established an online process for obtaining an EWS certificate.

Certificates issued by the following agencies will be recognized:

1. Sub-Divisional Magistrate/Taluka Magistrate/Executive Magistrate/Extra Assistant Commissioner; District Magistrate/Additional District Magistrate; Collector; Deputy Commissioner; Additional Deputy Commissioner; First Class Stipendiary Magistrate; Assistant Commissioner.

2. Head of the Presidency, Additional Chief Presidency, or Presidency Magistrate.

3. Sub-Divisional Officer and Revenue Officer in the area where the candidate and his family typically dwell, not less than the rank of Tehsildar.

Is the criteria uniform across all states in India?


While the requirements for eligibility for EWS reserves under federal programs are consistent nationwide, state-by-state variations exist in their execution. States maintain the authority to set their own income thresholds, despite the Central Government introducing the EWS criterion.

Benefits of EWS reservations:

Education Reservation: Like OBCs, SCs, and STs, the EWS reservation offers 10% of seats in educational institutions in India. Students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds may find it easier to gain admission to respected universities and continue their study because to this reserve.

10% reservation in government jobs: The EWS reservation, like the OBC, SC, and ST reservations, offers reservations in government jobs throughout India. People from economically disadvantaged groups may find it easier to obtain government jobs and better their financial situation thanks to this reservation.

Economic Advancement: By giving members of economically disadvantaged groups greater access to higher education and career prospects, the EWS reservation can aid in the economic advancement of those individuals. This may contribute to a decrease in the nation’s poverty and income disparity.

Integration: People from economically disadvantaged groups may find it easier to integrate into mainstream society with the support of the EWS reservation. This can foster social cohesion and lessen prejudice based on financial status.
Certificate renewal: The EWS recipients are required to renew their certificates annually, which might help to guarantee that the most deserving applicants receive the benefits of the reservation.

Despite the fact that WTP gathered all of this data from variety of sources. For further information, see the government website.